Correcting faults is cultivation. (Click image for video)


In the eyes of an awakened being, 

we are all lamentable. 

Nothing makes a dung beetle’s day like a lump of feces.

Whether they roll it into a round ball, bury it, or inhabit it where they find it, the dung beetle lives and breathes dung. It’s their nursery, their source of food and water, their home. They might even attach themselves to the animal source and wait for the inevitable. Without dung, they are lost. And so they are apt to steal a dung ball, sometimes under the guise of helping another beetle.

From birth to death, their existence centers on dung, on something we deem repulsive.

What a miserable way to live we tell ourselves, as we grimace in disgust.

And with that, we return to our own existence and the things that make our day. We eat and drink. We raise our children and tend to our home. We interact with others to attain more of what we want, perhaps even through dishonorable means.

As human beings, we consider ourselves fortunate. As do the beetles. Both, however, are inordinately mistaken.


When goaded, not fighting back takes courage. (Click image for video)


“Do you have time to chant?” 

“Sorry, not now.” 

“Then do you have time to watch a movie?” 


In the thirty-seven limbs of enlightenment, diligence appears four times. Why so often? Because diligence is crucial to our accomplishing pretty much everything worthwhile. Unless we have already planted abundant seeds to attain something, we need to get busy. But getting busy is the difficult part. We find it much easier to do something enjoyable than to do something we regard as work.

An example? Observing the efforts of others rather than doing something ourselves. Most of us make excuses to just coast. Inertia is king.

Any exceptions? Yes. We get energized with things that matter to us: our loved ones, an avocation, our principles. We need to move our Buddhist practice to this exception list. And then move it to the top of the list!

Because in samsara, freeing ourselves from momentary indulgence and inertia will prove to be the ultimate enjoyment. 


Too often, we not only repeat our mistakes . . . (Click image for video)