Seek wisdom, not knowledge. (Click image for video)


Be grateful. 

The pain of having our faults pointed out to us 

is usually less than the suffering 

as a consequence of committing faults over and over. 

Since our cultivation relies on us correcting our faults, anyone would think we’d be happy, delighted even, to have our faults pointed out by others. After all, they’re helping us progress in our practice.In reality, no one likes being corrected.

Criticism will elicit a range of reactions from us.




But rarely gratitude.

Which is a shame really. Most of us have a stockpile of faults and noticing them isn’t something we readily do. But we need to stop committing faults. It’s the only way we can quit suffering from the negative consequences of our actions, thoughts, and speech. To progress. A moment of chagrin or umbrage can be brushed aside. The more we do it, the easier it will get. And let’s face it, sometimes a verbal slap in the face can be extraordinarily effective.

Enough so that we know we’ll never do THAT again.



Letting go doesn’t mean we don’t care . . . (Click image for video)



Be not concerned that you don’t get any.

But be concerned that you are not acting 

in a praiseworthy way. 

It feels good to be praised. Many people may feel grateful that they didn’t mess up again. Arrogant people may think how perceptive others are to recognize quality when they see it. Wise people may politely murmur “Amituofo” and carry on with what they were doing.

Hopefully, we’re like those wise people because they understand the pitfalls of praise. Compliments are the karmic result for actions done. But they are actually poor returns because wise people aspire to accrue merits, which are permanent, not something transient like compliments.

Understanding this, our question regarding praise becomes not how we can receive it but, rather, how we can act in a manner that would be worthy of praise. And not just from anybody, but from those we respect. Not so they will praise us.

But because their high standards are the benchmarks we use to judge ourselves.